Skip to main content

Natural Divisions

Illinois is widely recognized for its diverse landscapes and natural communities. To account for these differences, regions of Illinois are distinguished from each other based on their Natural Division and Section. Illinois is separated into 14 Natural Divisions and 33 Sections within the divisions. Boundaries were determined based on differences in topography, glacial history, bedrock, soils, flora, and fauna. There are many natural communities present in Illinois that are confined to the conditions of one Natural Division. By considering each individual division and section, rather than just using state-wide data, conservationists can better understand the needs of the state's natural areas and the native species that call them home.

Learn more about the Natural Divisions of Illinois:

​Interactive Divisions Map

Illinois Natural Divisions (​Schwegman 1973)

Life On The Edge

Photo by Kevin Sierzega

Photo by Lisa Cotner